Friday, November 13, 2015


    You Mean THAT's In the Bible?

By: Satyaraja Dasa  

     Dedicated to His Divine Grace A.C.  Bhaktivedanta Swami
Prabhupada, who set the perfect example in his own life, by
Loving the Lord with all of his heart, soul, and mind. (See
Matt. 22:36-40)

                       Table of Contents

1) Introduction
2) You are not the Body
3) One Who Loves Christ Must Follow His Commandments
4) Meat Eating
5) Reincarnation
6) Celibacy
7) Renunciation
8) "There is much I have to tell you..."
9) Jesus and God May Be One--But They Are Also Different
10) Miscellaneous
11) After word

(Special thanks to His Grace Rajendranath Dasa; the fruits of
His research were indispensable to the production of this


   Both read the Bible day and night.
   But thou read’s black where I read white.
  --William Blake--

     Everyone has some conception of Christianity, whether one
Is a believer or not. The Christian doctrine is amenable to
Many different interpretations and, indeed, many have taken
Advantage of this amenability.  As early as sixty-five years
After the time of Jesus, for instance, Paul, who had never met?
Jesus, debated with the original Apostles in regard to Jesus'
Teaching:   Paul thought that Jesus’ advent freed the people
From following the Old Law, that faith alone was required.
Meanwhile, the Apostles taught that Jesus came to enforce the
Old Law, and that faith without work is dead.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015


Were There Two Buddhas?

by Sri Nandanandana dasa (Stephen Knapp)

I was asked to look into this a few years ago by someone who knew of my research abilities. But I have not been able to until now because of other priorities. But this topic has come up before, that actually there were two different Buddhas that played the part to establish Buddhism and its principles of ahimsa and nonviolence and its monist philosophy.

In the following material, we will look at the evidence that seems to indicate that there was first the Avatara Buddha, the incarnation of Lord Vishnu who appeared near 1800 BCE, and then there was another person who became known as Gautama called Buddha, born around 560 BCE.

1. The first Avatara Buddha established the philosophy of Ahimsa, nonviolence, and convinced those followers of Vedic customs who had become bent toward animal sacrifice to give up such rituals and simply follow him, and become kind to animals. Being an avatara of Vishnu, He did not establish any godless or monist philosophy.

2. The Avatara Buddha was also born of his mother Anjana in what became known as Bodhgaya.

3. The second Buddha known as Gautama, Siddhartha, or Shakyamuni – sage of the Shakyas – was born in Lumbini, now in Nepal, with Mayadevi as his mother. He is the one we often hear about, the prince who left home to do austerities to find enlightenment. He went to Bodhgaya to meditate because of its spiritual potency as the birthplace of the avatara Buddha. Then he became enlightened to the reasons for suffering in this world, and developed a godless way of becoming free from suffering. From that point he established the monist and godless philosophy of Buddhism, which became named after him.

Saturday, July 25, 2015



Places covered:
1. Ramanathaswamy Temple
2. Agni Tirtham
3. Dhanushkodi Tirtham
4. Kothandaramaswamy Temple
5. Villoondi Tirtham
6. Sri Ekantha Ramaswamy Temple
7. Gandamadhana parvat (hill)
8. Rama Tirtham
9. Laxmana Tirtham
10. Panchamukha Hanuman Temple and Floating stones from Lord Rama’s Bridge
11. Jada Tirtham
12.Thirupullani Temple
13. Sethu Karai(Sethu Bridge)
14. Pamban Bridge
15. Gulf of Mannar Bio sphere Reserve (GOMBR)

Rameswaram is situated at the extreme south end of India on the Gulf of Mannar. The island is in the shape of a conch shell, 55 km by 12 km. It is one of the most prominent holiest pilgrimage places in India. Srimad-Bhagavatam (canto 10 chapter 79 verses 16-17) states that Lord Balarama visited “Setubandha [Rameswaram]” in the course of His pilgrimage. Lord Caitanya also visited Rameswaram during His South India tour as mentioned in Caitanya Caritamrta Madhya Lila Chapter 9 verses 199-209.

Rameswaram is tropical island surrounded by coral reefs and sandy beaches with coconut palms and tamarind trees. It is a major centre of pilgrimage. The Sri Ramanathaswamy temple is one of the most important in India. It is a massive complex with a number of shrines, holy wells, gopurams, and several long hallways, one reaching 4000 feet in length, the longest in the world. The halls are adorned with many large pillars, some of them covered with scroll work, lotus designs, animals, and other figures, and colorfully painted medallions are on the ceilings. The worship at the temple goes back many thousands of years. The Rameswaram temple is also where Lord Caitanya found the Kurma Purana. In Kurma Purana, Lord found a verse stating that Ravana kidnapped an illusory Sita, and the real Sita was safely hidden by Agnideva. This information has greatly relieved many devotees of Sri Sri Sita-Rama. Rameswaram is easy to reach after seeing Madurai and the surrounding area. One can catch the early morning train from Madurai to Rameswaram.

In Sri Caitanya Caritamrta Madhya lila Chapter 9 verse 199, ISKCON Founder-Acarya A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada mentions in the purport: “The path from Mandapam through the ocean to the island known as Pambam consists partly of sand and partly of water. The island of Pambam is about 17 miles long and 6 miles wide. On this island, four miles north of Pambam Harbour, is Setubandha, where the temple of Rameavara is located. This is a temple of Lord Siva, and the name Ramesvara indicates that he is a great personality whose worshipable Deity is Lord Rama. Thus the Lord Siva found in the temple of Ramesvara is a great devotee of Lord Ramacandra.

In this area there are twenty-four different holy places, one of which is Dhanus-tirtha, located about 20 miles southeast of Rameswaram. It is near the last station of the Southern Railway, a station called Ramnad. It is said that here, on the request of Ravaa’s younger brother Vibhīaa, Lord Ramacandra destroyed the bridge to Lanka with His bow while returning to His capital. It is also said that one who visits Dhanus-tirtha is liberated from the cycle of birth and death, and that one who bathes there gets all the fruitive results of performing the yajna known as Agnistoma.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015



Abhimanyu is a key personality featured in the epic Mahabharata. The son of Arjuna and Subhadra, half­sister of Lord Krishna, Abhimanyu was an unparalleled archer considered equal to his father in prowess with the bow and arrow.

As an unborn child in his mother’s womb, Abhimanyu learned the knowledge of entering the deadly and virtually impenetrable Chakravyuha from Arjuna. The Mahabharata explains that from the womb, Abhimanyu overheard Arjuna talking about this with his mother Subhadra. Arjuna explained to Subhadra in detail the technique of attacking and escaping from various vyoohs (an array of army formation) such as Makaravyoha, Kurmavyooha, Sarpavyuha, etc.


An Indian­ origin writer has made the startling claim that Queen Victoria forbade the wife of the only married grandson of Maharaja Ranjit Singh from  having children so that the British Raj could tighten its grip on Punjab.

Peter Bance, a specialist in the history of Sikhs in Britain, writes about the reported instruction by Queen Victoria in his book, “Sovereign, Squire & Rebel”, a biography of Duleep Singh, son of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

Equally remarkable is the claim he makes that Queen Victoria may have been motivated by the desire to ensure that Britain’s hold over the massive and profitable Sikh kingdom remained unchallenged by any future Sikh royal descendant.